Avenue de Marigny

The leaves started to fall

One followed by another,

In some cases, two at once
From the tallest of trees they swung their way down to the streets
Swaying to a silent song no one else but me seemed to hear
I walked along
Looking up at all of them falling down,
The corners of my mouth curved upwards
As I kept staring at this picture, in disbelief of my life
Paris!

My hands went up to catch a falling leaf
To make sure this was real,
That I wasn’t just imagining it, dreaming again
The leaves kept falling, covering the streets
And I was smiling- loud, uninhibited
Skipping and letting the fresh rain trickle down my nose
Until I finally caught one!
With frayed edges and a light discoloring
Imperfect,

But so perfect to me then.

Avenue de Marigny, Paris



Leave a Reply

