Co-habitation

Night

It’s dark but for the few thin slits of light that break through the blinds

I claim my spot as I half-sit, half-lay on the chaise

and I look around my new place,

scanning every corner and thinking of ways to make it feel like home

I move a plant here, one there

until I suddenly realize

home is a person,

not a place.

 

He sits on the other side of the couch,

Intently looking at the tv and nodding

Completely unaware of just how much, and how often, I like to observe him

memorize his face; the black of his eyes, the curve of his nose, the ridge on his chin

Once I even watched him as he slept-

I timed his breaths

Then smiled at the sudden convulsions I have somehow gotten accustomed to.

One thought on “Co-habitation

Leave a Reply

