Between Sand and Sea

He stood naked between sand and sea, arms extended out in the shape of a cross while the wind threw the few hairs left on his head back and forth. I couldn’t see his face, but I imagined his eyes closed, his mouth parted and shaped in a slight smile as he exhaled all the frustrations of his life in one big breath. I let out a quick, quiet little laugh that could be mistaken for a sense of my own superiority. But down below my still ringing vocal chords was a burning desire to become that man; to wear nothing but the wind on my skin as God intended and leave all that weighed me down on that spot in the sand.

Leave a Reply

