Alive

I pulled up the blinds.

I discovered that if I moved just right

at a certain time in the day,

I could feel the warmth of the sun on my face,

Even from the depths of the pit where I find myself daily.

I finally understood the man I once saw standing in front of the ocean

naked, arms spread wide open, eyes closed

As he faced the sun and embraced the time where if even for one or two seconds,

he allowed himself to truly experience the pleasures of being alive

on this planet, made of water and sand

but so many other terrible things that it becomes easy,

Automatic even,

to forget how much we need to feel the sun on our skin every now and then,

forget that we are all connected to the sun, the moon, and the stars in a way we can’t explain…

 

So I moved just far enough to the right,

closed my eyes,

and I let the sun remind me

that I’m human,

that I’m alive,

and that Earth is a beautiful place to call home.

One thought on “Alive

Leave a Reply

