Savior (I don’t need one)

I need a friend, a companion

I don’t need a savior

So stop,

Please stop trying to save me

I’m lost

Yes, I’m a mess

But hey, at least I’m honest

I know right now I have very little to work with

But hey babe,

I don’t need your credit cards

your expensive gifts

your convertibles…

I don’t need your promises

of better days and forevermore

No, I don’t need to be a part of your new appartment

or sleep in your expensive sheets

I’ve got my soul to keep me warm,

I got my heart to pull me forward

and if I’m saved at all,

it’ll be on my terms

By my own grace,

My fragile strength.

Leave a Reply

