Here

Here we lay

side by side

Limbs untouched

Thinking of things to say

Nothing too personal, of course

Wouldn’t want to get too close in this bed

“Who are you?” I want to ask

But I stop myself, afraid you’d just laugh

And go on talking about minute details of my life instead,

Wrapping my legs around yours without a second thought mid sentence…

You feel tense

Distant

All the way over there, on that other side of the bed

And I,

Accompanied yet still alone;

 

I wish you were here.

 

Here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

