Belong

What is it
That you’d like to get from me?
The sound of my laughter
Echoing from the corner I claim on your couch,
The feel of my fingertips on the nape of your neck as you drive away from the place you used to call home
Or would you like my heart, completely?
Perhaps just for me to make a commitment?
Darling, I’m afraid you already have so much of me
And if I were to also give you my body
Would there be anything left for me?
Or would I just lose myself in you, in our love,
again
spiral out of control, unable to breathe
Become a stranger to you, to myself
Is this what love is?
I feel the need to belong to me.

Leave a Reply

