The State of Life

One feather out of place,
rising from my head as if wishing to fly away
These days,
I’ve been lost in my ways
finding myself in the most comical state
hopeless,
not helpless
Pleased,
not merely satisfied
with the state of
life

It may be mine,
but it feels like it belongs
to her
This other person living inside of me,
Who dresses in leather skirts and pointy black flats
to go to work
and who likes her wine and chocolates,
at night
deep under the covers
dreaming of nothing,
nada
because she’s already
got it
all.

Leave a Reply

