Words for Tears

These words I keep second-guessing

My broken heart

Has been messing

with my brain

Silent

Because my tears are my voice,

The words I never could say when you walked away

So life continues as if we never happened,

As if I hadn’t tried to give my heart away

As if I made up the looks you gave me, the way your body melted into mine

My words have become broken and sad

So I switch them for tears,

and silently

Live my days as if I dreamt you up-

As if you never broke my heart.

Leave a Reply

