They Say, I Feel

Tell me again how I should feel

“It’ll pass,” they say

and so everyday, I wake up and place this armour around me before setting foot outside

“I can do this,” I say

Knowing full well that part of me just wants to crawl back inside and die.

“Don’t say that!” they seem upset

but these are the feelings I feel and keep hidden behind this mask of strength.

Most days,

I can be who they want me to be.

Just not today.

Please, for God’s sake and his,

give today to me.

Leave a Reply

