Rebirth

My grief will be my medicine

a reminder

that I still have a heart inside

that beats not only loudly

but strong;

it will be present

and keep me company when everyone runs

from the waves of sadness that constantly break

against the shore of life;

 

My grief will be my compass

leading me on the path I’ve always been too afraid to follow;

My grief will be my rebirth

the end and the beginning of everything

that is yet to come.

 

And when they ask me how I did it,

how I survived grief

I’ll tell them it was by letting it take all of me,

piece by piece

bit by bit

until I grew comfortable with it being just another

indispensable

part of me.

One thought on “Rebirth

Leave a Reply

