my pain is bigger than theirs and theirs will always be bigger than mineyou said

so my vocal chords tried to carry it away

whirling through wires, traveling to you to

take it off your chest. your back.

it hurts me to hear you speak of yourself that way-

small. weak. unloved. 

you forget my skin was made of yours

and fail to see the galaxy in your arms and

the fountain of love that flows from your hands

so who do you need me to be today?

now that I’m bigger I can be your mirror

show you all the wonderful things you miss

when the fog of life descends on you

like a heavy weight

let me carry those words from your mouth

and toss them away

let me show you the galaxy there, in your arms

and let you bathe in the fountain of love you raised me to keep,

here in my heart.

 

 

 

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

