Public Transportation

Feels like I’m moving backwards

Sitting here in this bus,

Just another passenger

I can’t tell you how my heart beats

I wish I could hand it to you so you could feel

Every low, rumbling thump

Every quick paced, rushed drum

If this seat could talk

It would tell you I’ve written some of my best words,

cried my most defining tears

On these here seats of public transportation

 

Old friend,

I’m not going backwards

I’m just moving slowly

And I’m writing my best work

Here, on the seats of this bus.

Leave a Reply

